ACCESS PERFORMANCES

"Being a disabled theatre lover, I love nothing more than going to the Festival Theatre in Edinburgh.

The standard of customer service in general, but particularly for a wheelchair user, is second to none. You get great attention from the moment you get to the front door. Taking you to your seating area, bringing drinks to you at the break and even assisting you with the door to the very roomy disabled toilet - nothing is too much bother and it is all done with charm and a smiling face.

There must be excellent training.

I go there regularly and often have a different member of staff at each visit but the care is equally as good with all of them. An added bonus is where the disabled seating area is in the theatre - just at the back of the front stalls giving a brilliant view of the whole stage. A definite 5 star experience!"

Carol Simpson, Customer

Important information 

*The position of the BSL Signer is if watching from the audience.

  • We make every effort to keep all access information up to date and correct. Where possible we will give as much information as we can.
  • It is not always possible to have the names of BSL interpreters, audio describers and the positioning of interpreters on stage.
  • Due to theatre companies not confirming which side of the stage the interpreter will be on, we can hold seats on both sides until confirmation. Please ask box office. 
  • Please keep checking this page as it will be updated as soon as we have information.

 Donna Ruane is the BSL Tour Interpreter

Sunshine on Leith

Thu 24th May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 26th May 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Jenny Wilson and Jo Barrow)
  • BSL interpreted (Paul Belmonte, Jackie Greenshields [Position: Left])

Scottish Opera: Eugene Onegin

Thu 31st May 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Sherlock Holmes: The Final Curtain

Thu 31st May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 2nd June 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Tricia Weeks and Clea Friend)
  • BSL interpreted (Nicolle Murdoch [Position: Right])

Love from a Stranger

Thu 7th June 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Fri 8th June 7:30pm
  • Audio described (Judy Gilbert and Jo Barrow)
  • BSL interpreted (Julie Thompson [Position: Right])

Matthew Bourne's Cinderella

Sat 9th June 2:30pm
  • Audio described

The Last Ship

Thu 14th June 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 16th June 2:30pm
  • Audio described (Myra Galletly and Jo Barrow)
  • BSL interpreted (Louise Holden [Position: Right])

Kiss Me, Kate

Thu 5th July 7:15pm
  • Captioned
Sat 7th July 2:15pm
  • Audio described (Maggie Mash and Alice Gilmour)
  • BSL interpreted (Paul Whittaker [Position: Right])

Edinburgh International Festival: Cold Blood

Mon 6th August 8:00pm
  • BSL interpreted

Edinburgh International Festival: The Barber of Seville

Wed 8th August 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Edinburgh International Festival: Xenos

Sat 18th August 8:00pm
  • Audio described

Edinburgh International Festival: The Beggar's Opera

Sun 19th August 2:30pm
  • Audio described

Edinburgh International Festival: The End of Eddy

Sat 25th August 2:00pm
  • Audio described
Sun 26th August 2:00pm
  • BSL interpreted

Edinburgh International Festival: La Cenerentola

Sun 26th August 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Still Alice

Thu 27th September 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 29th September 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Rain Man

Thu 4th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 6th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Rebus: Long Shadows

Thu 11th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 13th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Calendar Girls the Musical

Fri 12th October 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Matthew Bourne's Swan Lake

Sat 20th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described

Fame the Musical

Thu 25th October 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 27th October 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Dracula

Thu 1st November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 3rd November 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Vulcan 7

Thu 8th November 12:00am
  • Captioned
Sat 10th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Rigoletto

Sun 11th November 3:00pm
  • Audio described

Shakespeare in Love

Thu 15th November 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 17th November 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

King's Panto 2018/19: Beauty and the Beast

Fri 14th December 7:00pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted
Sat 5th January 2:00pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Ballet Cinderella

Sat 15th December 2:30pm
  • Audio described

Les Misérables

Wed 30th January 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • Captioned
Wed 6th February 7:30pm
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Anthropocene

Sat 2nd February 7:15pm
  • Audio described

Dirty Dancing

Thu 7th March 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 9th March 3:00pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Southern Light: My Fair Lady

Fri 8th March 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

EDGAS present The Mikado

Fri 15th March 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: Kátya Kabanová

Sat 23rd March 7:15pm
  • Audio described

The Girl on the Train

Thu 28th March 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Sat 30th March 2:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Doctor Dolittle

Thu 23rd May 7:30pm
  • Captioned
Fri 24th May 7:30pm
  • Audio described
  • BSL interpreted

Scottish Opera: The Magic Flute

Sun 9th June 3:00pm
  • Audio described